Ashford University Honors San Diego's Best Teachers at 22nd Annual Salute to Teachers Event

Five teachers named 2013 San Diego Teachers of the Year

San Diego’s finest academic leaders were recognized this past weekend at the 22nd Annual Salute to Teachers event presented by Ashford University. The black-tie gala was held October 6 at the Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego.

Five phenomenal teachers, selected from a pool of 42 nominees representing 26,000 San Diego school teachers in 42 districts, were named 2013 San Diego County Teachers of the Year and are now candidates for California’s Teacher of the Year. Nominees were selected by their school districts based on student achievement, teaching philosophy, familiarity with current issues in education, and community involvement.

Ashford University President Dr. Elizabeth Tice presented one of the San Diego Teacher of the Year finalists to the sold-out crowd of 1,300.

“Ashford University is honored to support San Diego’s teachers and the San Diego County Teacher of the Year Awards,” Dr. Tice said. “We are fortunate to have such fine teachers in San Diego, and it’s necessary to recognize them for the important role they serve in shaping the future of our youth.”   

The 2012-2013 San Diego County Teachers of the Year are:

  • Anthony Bayro, Los Peñasquitos Elementary School (Poway Unified School District)
  • Tim Dobbins, Montgomery Middle School (Cajon Valley Union School District)
  • Emily Jimenez, Rancho del Rey Middle School (Sweetwater Union High School District)
  • Jennifer McSparran, Mt. Woodson Elementary (Ramona Unified School District)
  • Martin Reisert, Oak Valley Middle School (Poway Unified School District)

The Salute to Teachers award ceremony aired live on San Diego’s Channel 4 and 704 and will replay on those same channels at 9:30 p.m. on Oct. 20, at 8 p.m. on Oct. 26 and at 8 p.m. on Nov. 21. The 22nd annual Salute to Teachers was a coproduction of Cox Communications and the San Diego County Office of Education.


About Ashford University

Ashford University is defining the modern college experience by combining the heritage of a traditional campus with the flexibility and effectiveness of online learning. The University provides a vibrant learning community where high-quality programs and leading-edge technology create a dynamic, immersive and stimulating learning experience. Ashford University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association ( The University offers practical and progressive associate's, bachelor's and master's degree programs online, as well as bachelor’s degree programs at its Clinton, Iowa, campus. Ashford University – where heritage meets innovation. For more information, please visit or call Shari Rodriguez, associate vice president of Public Relations, at 858.513.9240 x2513.