Ashford University Offers Scholarships to Area Educators

Teacher scholarships and "Teacher of the Year" awards to be presented

Ashford University will once again honor area educators by offering three scholarships to its online teacher education programs and a  “Teacher of the Year” award this spring.

“This is the fourth year we have honored area teachers in these ways,” said Dr. Joen Larson, dean of Ashford University’s College of Education, in announcing the 2013 program. “We encourage teachers who want to continue their education to apply for one of our scholarships and, if you have had a teacher who has made a difference in your life or the life of your child, now is the perfect time to show your appreciation by nominating him or her for ‘Teacher of the Year.’”

Scholarship winners may enroll in either of Ashford University’s two online teacher education programs – the Master of Arts in Education or the Master of Arts in Teaching and Learning with Technology. These scholarships include full program tuition, all books, and a technology fee waiver for a two-year period. 

While separate from the scholarship opportunities, the recipient of the “Teacher of the Year” award will receive $500.00 for classroom materials or supplies.

To nominate someone for the “Teacher of the Year” award, send the following to Dr. Joen Larson, Ashford University, P.O. Box 2967, Clinton, IA 52732:

·         Your name and relationship to the nominee;

·         Your contact information (daytime phone number and email address);

·         Nominee’s name;

·         Nominee’s contact information (daytime phone number and email address);

·         Nominee’s school name/district;

·         Nominee’s grade level or subject; and

·         Narrative describing why the teacher should receive the Ashford University Teacher of the Year Award.

Recipients and their principals will be recognized at a ceremony during the 16th annual “Ashford Night at the Clinton LumberKings” at Ashford University Field, Clinton, Iowa, on Friday, April 19.

Informational materials have been provided to area schools. To be eligible, educators must be employed at a public or private K-12 school in the Iowa counties of Clinton, Scott or Jackson, the Illinois counties of Carroll, Whiteside or Rock Island, or any school district that has hosted Ashford University student-teacher clinical placements.

Program participants must be employed at schools in these areas. Residency is not a determining factor. 

The deadline for applying for the scholarships and nominations for the “Teacher of the Year” award is Feb. 1, 2013.

For additional information or to obtain an application or nomination materials, please contact Dr. Joen Larson at 563.242.4023, ext.7790.

About Ashford University

Ashford University is defining the modern college experience by combining the heritage of a traditional campus with the flexibility and effectiveness of online learning. The University provides a vibrant learning community where high-quality programs and leading-edge technology create a dynamic, immersive and stimulating learning experience. Ashford University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association ( The University offers practical and progressive associate's, bachelor's and master's degree programs online, as well as bachelor’s degree programs at its Clinton, Iowa, campus. Ashford University – where heritage meets innovation. For more information, please visit or call Shari Rodriguez, associate vice president of Public Relations, at 858.513.9240 x2513.