Ashford University Recognizes Students and Faculty During Awards Ceremony

With the 2009-2010 academic year coming to a close, Ashford University held a ceremony on April 29 to present awards to campus students who had achieved academic excellence, and to recognize outstanding faculty members. 

During the ceremony, special student awards were presented to:     

§ Jamie Wall, Fulton, IL, the Accounting Student Award, sponsored by the Iowa Society of Certified Public Accountants to recognize the top accounting graduate;

§ Tasha McFarling, Newton, IA, the Business Department’s Scholars Award, given to the highest ranking graduate in business;

§ Lisa LaMasse, Hanover Park, IL, the James L. Mooney Social Science Award, which recognizes the Social Science graduate with the highest grade point average;

§ Amy Kent, Clinton, IA, the Joan Walsh Richeson Award, given to the liberal arts major who best personifies the values of a liberal arts education and

§ Amy Strehlow, Milledgeville, IL, and April-Lynn Edwards-Eshelman,, the Alex Esquivel Promising Teacher Award, given to a teacher education graduate who shows exceptional potential as an educator. 

A new award this year, the Sr. Marilyn Shea Outstanding Disposition Award, was presented to two students: Samantha Carlson, Clinton, IA and Breelyn McMahon, Princeton, IL. The College of Education will use this award, named for longtime faculty member Sr. Marilyn Shea, to recognize teacher candidates with outstanding dispositions for teaching, including reflection, professional conduct, respect for diversity, high expectations, respect for others, compassion, advocacy, curiosity, dedication, honesty and fairness. 

Dr. Hope Gardina, Vice President of Academic Affairs, announced that faculty members Sr. Theresa Judge, College of Arts and Science; David Stedwell, College of Business and Professional Studies and Sr. Marilyn Shea, College of Education and Grace Johnson, ASPIRE program, will receive “Dean’s Choice Awards” from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD). These faculty members will attend NISOD’s international conference and awards ceremony this month in Austin, TX.

The following Faculty Excellence Awards were presented during the ceremony:

§ Charles West, the Excellence in Teaching Award, given to an individual whose command of their discipline, teaching methodologies, communication skills, concern for student performance, and commitment to the learning process exemplifies the teacher/mentor model;

§ Harry Jennings, the Excellence in Teaching – Campus Accelerated Award, given to a superior accelerated classroom teacher which is exemplified by an individual whose command of their discipline, teaching methodologies, communication skills, concern for student performance, and commitment to the learning process exemplifies the teacher/mentor mode; 

§ David Stedwell, the Excellence in Research or Creative Endeavors Award, given to an individual whose research or creative endeavors have been particularly successful and are recognized locally, regionally or nationally;

§ David Quinn, the Excellence in Public Service Award, given to an individual who has brought credit to Ashford University through successful efforts in applying the content or skills of their academic disciplines in service to the community, state, or nation in areas of public interest and

§ Mike Wiseman, the Excellence in Teaching and Learning through Technology Award, given to recognize innovative faculty efforts to integrate technology, teaching and learning. 

Gardina also announced that Dr. Sarah Gall has been promoted to associate professor, effective at the beginning of the 2010-11 academic year. She also recognized retiring faculty members Dr. John Ivens, Sr. Marilyn Shea and Terri Bousselot. 

Also during the campus awards event, Ashford University recognized students who had perfect attendance during the spring semester: Felix Adedoyin, Lagos, Nigeria; Samantha Carlson, Clinton, IA; Adam Cauley, Savanna, IL; Sarah Francisco, Bettendorf, IA; Amber Griswold, Clinton, IA; Jessica Hartman, Thomson, IL; Kira Favaro, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario; Benjamin Miller, Sterling, IL; Kateri Nesbitt, Savanna, IL; Whitney Pannell, Thomson, IL; Andrew Schnorr, Camanche, IA; Jennifer Steines, Clinton, IA; Jerrica Walker, Chicago, IL and Terrica Walker, Chicago, IL.

About Ashford University

Founded in 1918, Ashford University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools ( The University offers graduate and undergraduate degree programs online and at its Clinton, Iowa, campus. The University is known for its high quality yet highly affordable online and on-campus programs. For more information, please visit or call Shari Rodriguez, director of Public Relations, at 858.513.9240 x2513.