Ashford University Salutes San Diego County School Teachers

Organization was Title Sponsor of Annual Teacher of the Year Event

- More than 2,000 educators, sponsors and supporters gathered together on Saturday, September 20, 2008, to attend a black-tie, Academy Awards-style program to honor San Diego’s best and brightest school teachers. 

Held at the historic Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego and televised live on San Diego’s Channel 4, this year marks the 35th annual San Diego County Teacher of the Year awards program, an event highlighting the achievements of San Diego’s most esteemed educators.  

Ashford University, a subsidiary of Bridgepoint Education, was the title sponsor for the 2008 event. Its President, Dr. Jane McAuliffe, was the evening’s first presenter. 

“It is a great privilege for Ashford to participate in congratulating the men and women who educate the children of our community,” said McAuliffe during her remarks. 

Throughout the program, 43 nominees – representative of more than 26,000 public school teachers - were acknowledged for their commitment to quality education. Five were named San Diego County Teachers of the Year:  

·         Vicki Pilling, a special education teacher at Solana Santa Fe School in the Solana Beach School District.

·         Chris Stanley, a language arts, social studies and physical education teacher at Carlton Hills School in the Santee School District. 

·         Andee Aceves, a third grade teacher at San Altos Elementary School in the Lemon Grove School District.

·         Freddie Chavarria, a pre-algebra and algebra teacher at Jefferson Middle School in the Oceanside Unified School District.

·         Tammy Reina, a teacher who works with incarcerated boys at East Mesa School, located within the East Mesa Juvenile Detention Facility, adjacent to the California–Mexico International Border. 

Teacher of the Year award recipients each received $1,000 and a Sony laptop computer. The five will now move on to compete for State and National Teacher of the Year honors.  

Local celebrities Kyra Phillips, CNN news anchor, and Dennis Morgigno, Channel 4 station manager, co-hosted the awards program.  Entertainment included special video presentations for each Teacher of the Year honoree, along with musical and dance performances by District students. 

This was the 17th annual televised awards program, jointly produced by Cox Communications and the San Diego County Office of Education.  

The show was telecast live on Channel 4 San Diego and in high definition on Channel 704.  Replays are scheduled to air on Channel 4/704 on October 3 at 7 p.m., October 11 at 9 p.m., October 24 at 8 p.m., November 26 at 7 p.m., and December 23 at 6 p.m.  

To view additional awards program information, please visit the San Diego County Office of Education website at, or the Cox Channel 4 San Diego website at 

About Ashford University

Founded in 1918, Ashford University is a coeducational institution regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, with programs in education, business, accounting, criminal and social justice, computer animation and graphic design, and other areas.  The University offers undergraduate and graduate degrees, as well as a range of student activities and athletics, at its Clinton campus.  Online degree programs are available in education, organizational management, business administration, and psychology.  The University is known for its high quality yet highly affordable on-campus and online programs, with tuition fees among the lowest in the U.S. compared to other private institutionsIts tagline is: “Higher Education Made Affordable”SM.  For more information, please visit or call Shari Rodriguez, Director of Public Relations, at 858/513-9240 x2513.